Emotional Writing


Some of my best writing came about while I was in some kind of emotional state. Be it PMS (yes I went there), grief, or simply missing someone I’m extremely close to like my older brother, those emotions come out in a big way when I’m writing. It helps when I’m trying to tap into an emotional scene for a story because when I’m feeling “normal” it can be quite challenging for me to get to that place. When my emotions are high and raw, I can totally go there and capture the emotions that I’m trying to tap into.

I’ve kept a journal since I was in the 5th grade and it amazes me to see how much I’ve grown as a person and as a writer over the years. The way I expressed myself when I was a preteen or teen cracks me up now because I’m an adult and have lived and learned. Back then I sounded as though my life was over and the world needed to stop until my problem was resolved! I was your typical highly emotional teenager. I’m so glad I kept a journal to document the different stages of my life, and I’m glad I can look back at it and smile or laugh. Somewhere down the line I learned to apply my emotional energy into my stories. I’m not exactly sure when it happened, but I’m glad it did.

As a newbie to the blogging world,  emotional writing was something I always wanted to ask other writers. Do you find that you write some of your best work when you’re in an emotional state, or is it the opposite for you? When I’m angry I get the same results, but sometimes I find that I may be a bit too angry with my words and have to edit things to tone it down a bit. Even if I’m not working on a particular project at the moment, ideas for a story will come to mind and I’ll start writing. For all I know I may have found a new story to write about, or I can take bits and pieces from what I wrote and apply it to something else. We all have different things that motivate and inspire us to write. I would love to hear what yours is.

Please fee free to leave your comments, I love the feedback and conversation!

Sonya

 

Leave a Reply

